Alonso takes pole in rain delayed qualifying

Michael Schumacher, Fernando Alonso & Mark Webber

7 July 2012 by Ryan Wood

Fernando Alonso will start on pole position for the British Grand Prix, his first pole since mid-2010, after a risky lap in the rain.

The Ferrari driver starts ahead of Mark Webber and Michael Schumacher in P2 and P3 respectively.

Sebastian Vettel and Felipe Massa couldn't match their team-mates and ended up fourth and fifth quickest, whilst Kimi Raikkonen and Pastor Maldonado complete the top seven cars.

Lewis Hamilton will start his home race in eighth place ahead of Nico Hulkenberg and Romain Grosjean who failed to set a timed lap after ending up in the gravel at the end of Q2.

Torrential rain halfway through the second session left the stewards with no option but to red flag it. With the downpour continuing for over an hour, the session wasn't restarted until 15:07 (local time), which gave the track a chance to dry.

As the session began, it was Hamilton who took to the conditions best to go quickest, as Paul di Resta, Nico Rosberg and Bruno Senna were among those unable to escape the drop-zone.

Jenson Button failed to make it out of the Q1 drop-zone after he missed the best of the conditions earlier in the session. He looked likely to jump up the order on his final lap, but yellow flags, the result of Timo Glock spinning, hampered his progress.

Button starts 18th ahead of the Caterham duo led by Vitaly Petrov, whilst the man who inadvertently ruined Button's lap, starts P21.

Pedro de la Rosa and Narain Karthikeyan will start ahead of Charles Pic who failed to qualify within the 107% time.

2012 British GP Qualifying Results (* = 5 place penalty):

PosDriverTeamQ1 TimeQ2 TimeQ3 Time
04. S. Vettel Red Bull 1:46.279 1:56.931 1:52.199
02. M. Webber Red Bull 1:47.276 1:55.898 1:51.793
08. L. Hamilton McLaren 1:47.433 1:54.897 1:53.543
18. J. Button McLaren 1:48.044
15. B. Senna Williams 1:47.105 1:57.426
01. F. Alonso Ferrari 1:46.515 1:56.921 1:51.746
05. F. Massa Ferrari 1:47.401 1:56.388 1:53.065
09. N. Hulkenberg* Force India 1:46.344 1:55.556 1:54.382
07. P. Maldonado Williams 1:46.449 1:56.802 1:53.539
12. K. Kobayashi* Sauber 1:46.649 1:57.071
17. S. Perez Sauber 1:46.494 1:57.895  
19. V. Petrov Caterham 1:49.027

06. K. Raikkonen Lotus 1:47.309 1:56.469 1:53.290
03. M. Schumacher Mercedes 1:46.571 1:55.799 1:52.020
13. N. Rosberg Mercedes 1:47.724 1:57.108  
10. R. Grosjean Lotus 1:47.043 1:56.388 No Time
16. J. Vergne** Toro Rosso 1:47.705 1:57.719  
11. P. di Resta Force India 1:47.582 1:57.009  
22. P. de la Rosa HRT 1:52.742
14. D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:47.266 1:57.132  
20. H. Kovalainen Caterham 1:49.477  
24. C. Pic* Marussia 1:54.143    
21. T. Glock Marussia 1:51.618    
23. N. Karthikeyan HRT 1:53.040
Q1 107% Time: 1:53.718