Vettel eases to Malaysia pole as showers hit

Red Bull Racing, Getty Images

23 March 2013 by TF1T Staff

Sebastian Vettel will start the Malaysian Grand Prix in pole position after a stunning lap in drying conditions put him almost a second ahead of his nearest rivals.

The Red Bull driver timed his final flying lap perfectly as a late rain shower eased off in the closing minutes to give the late runners a chance to improve their times.

Felipe Massa will start second for Ferrari. It's the first time the Brazilian has started on the front-row since Bahrain 2010. His team-mate Fernando Alonso starts third - the first time he has been outqualified by a team-mate in Malaysia since the 2006 race.

Lewis Hamilton, who had secured provisional pole, starts fourth for Mercedes ahead of Mark Webber and Nico Rosberg.

Kimi Raikkonen will start in the same position he did in Australia - a race he won from seventh on the grid.

Both McLarens made it through to Q3, with Jenson Button starting eighth and Sergio Perez tenth. The Force India of Adrian Sutil splitting them.

Paul di Resta left his flying lap during Q2 too late and was caught out by a quick shower. His first attempt was compromised with an off at turn seven before a second attempt was ruined by a spin at the same corner. He starts 11th.

Q2 was a case of drivers not going out early enough to miss the rain.

Meanwhile Jules Bianchi was once again the top ranked driver amongst the new teams, Marussia and Caterham.

Qualifying - 2013 Malaysian Grand Prix

#Driver Team Q1Q2Q3
01 S. Vettel Red Bull 1:37.899 1:37.245 1:49.674
05 M. Webber Red Bull 1:37.619 1:36.449 1:52.244
08 J. Button McLaren 1:37.487 1:37.117 1:53.175
10 S. Perez McLaren 1:37.702 1:37.342 1:54.136
11 R. Grosjean Lotus 1:37.363 1:37.636
06 N. Rosberg Mercedes 1:37.239 1:36.190 1:52.519
03 F. Alonso Ferrari 1:37.314 1:36.877 1:50.727
07 K. Räikkönen Lotus 1:36.959 1:36.640 1:52.970
04 L. Hamilton Mercedes 1:37.513 1:36.517 1:51.699
12 N. Hulkenberg Sauber 1:37.931 1:38.125  
02 F. Massa Ferrari 1:37.712 1:36.874 1:50.587
15 P. di Resta Force India 1:37.493 1:44.509  
09 A. Sutil Force India 1:36.809 1:36.834 1:53.439
18 V. Bottas Williams 1:38.207    
17 J-E. Vergne Toro Rosso 1:38.157  
13 D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:37.722 1:38.822  
16 P. Maldonado Williams 1:37.867
14 E. Gutierrez Sauber 1:37.707 1:39.221  
19 J. Bianchi Marussia 1:38.434    
21 M. Chilton Marussia 1:39.672    
22 G. van der Garde Caterham 1:39.932    
20 C. Pic Caterham 1:39.314    
Q1 107% Time: 1:43.585