Hamilton eases to first pole for Mercedes at Chinese Grand Prix

Sutton Images

13 April 2013 by TF1T Staff

Lewis Hamilton will start the Chinese Grand Prix in pole position for Mercedes, his first pole with his new team since leaving McLaren for the 2013 season.

The Brit posted a 1:34.484 to easily take the top spot ahead of Kimi Raikkonen in second. The Finn was just under three tenths slower than Hamilton.

Fernando Alonso will start third ahead of the second Mercedes of Nico Rosberg, who split the Ferraris with Felipe Massa sixth.

Daniel Ricciardo was the surprise package of the session as he managed to not only progress through to Q3, but he will start seventh, albeit helped by the strategic calls from Jenson Button, Sebastian Vettel and Nico Hulkenberg - all of which opted not to set a timed lap so they can start the race on the harder compound.

Force India had a disappointing day after showing some promise during the previous races and practice sessions. Paul di Resta starts 11th whilst team-mate Adrian Sutil could only manage 13th.

Mark Webber qualified a lowly 14th thanks to a drop in fuel pressure which saw him pull off the circuit during the second shoot-out. He might not even start that high if the scrutineers can't extract the required one litre fuel sample.

Jules Bianchi once again spearheaded Marussia's campaign and put himself ahead of Max Chilton and the Caterhams.

Qualifying - 2013 Chinese Grand Prix

#Driver Team Q1Q2Q3
09 S. Vettel Red Bull 1:36.537 1:35.343
14 M. Webber Red Bull 1:36.148 1:36.679
08 J. Button McLaren 1:36.667 1:35.784
12 S. Perez McLaren 1:36.952 1:36.314
06 R. Grosjean Lotus 1:36.929 1:36.065 1:35.364
04 N. Rosberg Mercedes 1:33.959 1:35.537 1:34.861
03 F. Alonso Ferrari 1:36.253 1:35.148 1:34.788
02 K. Räikkönen Lotus 1:37.046 1:35.659 1:34.761
01 L. Hamilton Mercedes 1:35.793 1:35.078 1:34.484
10 N. Hulkenberg Sauber 1:36.985 1:36.261
05 F. Massa Ferrari 1:35.972 1:35.403 1:34.933
11 P. di Resta Force India 1:37.478 1:36.287  
13 A. Sutil Force India 1:37.349 1:36.405
17 V. Bottas Williams 1:37.769    
16 J-E. Vergne Toro Rosso 1:37.508 1:37.199
07 D. Ricciardo Toro Rosso 1:36.993 1:36.258 1:35.998
15 P. Maldonado Williams 1:37.281 1:37.139  
18 E. Gutierrez Sauber 1:37.990
19 J. Bianchi Marussia 1:38.780    
20 M. Chilton Marussia 1:39.537    
22 G. van der Garde Caterham 1:39.660    
21 C. Pic Caterham 1:39.614    
Q1 107% Time: 1:42.498