Ricciardo wins sensational Hungarian GP in style

Octane Photographic

27 July 2014 by TF1T Staff

Daniel Ricciardo was crowned the winner of the 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix in sensational style in what has to be considered one of the best races of the season.

Fernando Alonso managed to hold onto second despite worn tyres and a charging Lewis Hamilton chasing him down for the last ten laps of the race.

The Mercedes driver, who started from the pitlane, managed to make the best of the wet conditions at the start to close down on the leaders before racing his way to third.

Hamilton finished just half a second ahead of team-mate Nico Rosberg who, despite starting on pole, could only manage fourth.

The race saw a pre-start downpour which soaked the circuit. Hamilton was the major casualty, spinning on his first lap, damaging his front-wing.

A safety car period for Marcus Ericsson and Romain Grosjean bunched the pack up with several cars changing strategy as a result.

Once the track dried and the various strategies played out, intense battles broke out throughout the field.

Race Result - 2014 Hungarian Grand Prix:

01. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull
02. Fernando Alonso Ferrari +5.2 18
03. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes +5.8 15
04. Nico Rosberg Mercedes +6.3 12
05. Felipe Massa Williams +29.8 10
06. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari +31.4 8
07. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull +40.9 6
08. Valtteri Bottas Williams +41.3 4
09. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso +58.5 2
10. Jenson Button McLaren +67.2 1
11. Adrian Sutil Sauber +68.1
12. Kevin Magnussen McLaren +78.4
13. Pastor Maldonado Lotus +84.0
14. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso +1 lap
15. Jules Bianchi Marussia +2 laps
16. Max Chilton Marussia +2 laps
17. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber Retired
18. Kamui Kobayashi Caterham Retired
19. Sergio Perez Force India Retired
20. Nico Hulkenberg Force India Retired
21. Romain Grosjean Lotus Retired
22. Marcus Ericsson Caterham Retired